ECMp 355 blog spot
 
This YouTube video really struck a note with me.  I believe in what this young man says.  He is speaking nothing but the truth because lets look at majority of university students.  Do we ever remember what we studied for the night before a final exam? Rarely.  This video really inspires me to want to make education meaningful to my students.  Make them want to learn and make learning fun for them! Watch Suli's videos on YouTube and let me know what you think!
#IWillNotLetAnExamResultDecideMyFate  #RedefineEducation
5/13/2013 02:18:54 pm

I hear a professor say recently after getting frustrated with his students not engaging in the class that a student told him, "I didn't come hear to get an education, I came to get a degree". What a sad thing to say.

If there's any goal a teacher should have it should be to make learning the prize, not a grade, degree, diploma or even a pizza party for reading the most books.

ONe of my goals in this class is to eliminate the grading as a focus. Let me know at the end if it works. ;)

Reply
5/14/2013 03:18:42 am

I loved this video as well! You should follow Suli on twitter if you don't already:) One way to make learning more meaningful for our students is using inquiry in the classroom. Also, let students choose what they want to learn about, and the learning that occurs will stick with them for a greater amount of time.

Reply
Alia Dlugan
5/14/2013 05:32:20 am

That's a powerful reminder of how important it is to make learning meaningful to our students. Thanks for sharing!

Reply
Jocelyn Thomas
5/14/2013 09:39:47 am

It is a great reminder for us teachers to make our teaching and the students learning relevant to their lives and meaningful. I also think students can make more connections and learn a lot better if it is relevant to them.

Reply



Leave a Reply.